Ask a Freemason Questions and Answers Find a Lodge Near You

How to become a Freemason if one lives in Iraq…?
Posted: 31 December 2012 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Newcomer
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2012-12-31

Dears,

I am an International Lawyer working for a renowned company within Iraq, and my question is; How does one becomes a freemason, if ones lives in Northern Iraq (Kurdistan)?

Thank you,
K

Posted: 31 December 2012 08:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2331
Joined  2011-01-20

As with most countries in the Middle East, Freemasonry is illegal in Iraq. You cannot become a Freemason there.

Signature 

John Ruggiero, 32°
Master, Ancient York Lodge, Lowell, MA.

God never sends us anything we can’t handle. Sometimes I wish He didn’t trust me so much. - Mother Teresa

Posted: 31 December 2012 09:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Newcomer
Rank
Joined  2012-12-31

Thank you for the information J.R.

What does one like myself need to do to over come this obstacle?

I live in the KRG region (Kurdish Regional Government) and this region is separate from the rest of Iraq. Therefore it would be great to introduce the idea within this region!

Posted: 31 December 2012 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1451
Joined  2010-11-01

Really there is nothing you can do.  The government in that area needs to lift the ban on the Fraternity.  You are stuck between the proverbial rock and a hard place.

Signature 

W:. Bro. Paul Hulseapple
St. Georges Lodge #6
Worshipful Master for the 2016-17 A.D 6016-17 A.L. year

32°AASR Valley of Schenectady
St Georges Chapter #157 Royal Arch Masons
Scribe

St. George’s Council # 74 Cryptic Masons
Giles Fonda Yates Council #22 AMD
Jr. Warden

St. George’s Commandery #37
Oriental Shrine A.A.O.N.M.S.
Schenectady NY

Posted: 31 December 2012 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1249
Joined  2011-11-10
Kay1472 - 31 December 2012 07:37 AM

Dears,