Ask a Freemason Questions and Answers Find a Lodge Near You

Back to work
Posted: 27 March 2018 09:38 PM   [ Ignore ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  679
Joined  2009-11-18

It has been quite a long time since I last wrote a posting on this site. In fact, I haven’t even checked in to read postings for some time. When ASK first appeared and I joined it, I used to check in first thing every day and posted often. In time, however, the success of ASK was such that we seemed to run out of new questions to deal with. The site was so successful that we certainly covered all the most commonly asked questions.

At about the same time, I finished my second and third years as WM of my lodge and began a welcome retirement from all the duties that entails. The lodge also chose an official “ritualist”, an officer who is in charge of instructing and rehearsing the officers in the ritual. I had been doing that without any official title for many years, but was glad to have someone else take it up. The PM who did so (and is still doing it) is an extraordinary officer. He knows every syllable of all the work and also handles the instruction of the new brothers after the conferral of the degrees (I’m intentionally avoiding the “C” word here) along with serving as permanent Sr. Deacon. He first served as WM in 1959 and twice more around 2001 and is 90 years old!  At about that time, I began having health problems, which have increased since then, so I’m frequently unable to get out to Lodge and I don’t attend officers’ rehearsals, consequently I have not participated in any ritual work for nearly 10 years.