Ask a Freemason Questions and Answers Find a Lodge Near You

1 of 2
Responding to a toast and given addresses.
Posted: 20 December 2017 04:47 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Newcomer
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2011-04-28

Brethren, i am an English Mason and a district officer. Mostly when I’m on a delegation to other lodges, it’s a requisite to speak to the WM or give an address to the wardens or even given a toast or responding to one. My challenge is that I finds it difficult with my MASONIC addresses. It has been an hindrance to my MASONIC career and it’s not making me visit other lodges because of the speeches. Though I’m a chartered accountant and working with Pwc or Price Waterhousecoopers as a senior Auditor but I realized that when it comes to MASONIC things it’s different . Is there any help on this or any recommendations or a book i will be recommended to read on MASONIC speeches so I will be abreast with the MASONIC terminology in expressing myself well. Thank you

Posted: 21 December 2017 07:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1300
Joined  2011-11-10

Hi ph - can you just clarify which bit you find the most difficult? - Where to stop with the “WM, DistGM, etc” or just speaking in general? (I’m a PProvJGW in UGLE and had to respond to the visitors toast on a number of occasions).  What rank do you hold? (it might help in knowing on this occasion).

Signature 

Richard
Past Assistant Grand Director of Ceremonies (UGLE)
PProvJGW, PProvGReg, PProvAGSec (Craft)
PProvGTreas, PProvGReg, PProv1stAGSoj (Royal Arch)
Mark (PProvGIWks), Royal Ark Mariner (ProvRAMGR)
Ancient and Accepted Rite; (30°), Knights Templar (PStdB)
Knight Templar Priest (PGBB), Royal Order of Scotland
Order of Secret Monitor (Brotherhood of David and Jonathan - unattached)

Posted: 21 December 2017 10:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  64
Joined  2016-10-06

I am sorry it’s becoming such a mountain for you. Do you feel judged or something?