Ask a Freemason Questions and Answers Find a Lodge Near You

Candidate / Applicant.  New to the English Language..
Posted: 12 June 2017 07:24 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Newcomer
Rank
Total Posts:  25
Joined  2012-11-05

Dear Sir’s. Need some clarification.. First off my Lodge is in California and also I am a officer in the Lodge..
My Lodge is considering accepting the application of a young man whom has newly arrived in the U.S.  And he has a very limited grasp of the English language.
FYI. ( His App. has not been read yet.. )
My W.M. has suggested that we can Initiate him , but I’am not so sure. How will he understand what is being said and done..  I would like some opinion’s on understanding how this make’s sense.    Thank you for your consideration.  S & F

Posted: 12 June 2017 08:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2331
Joined  2011-01-20

Wow, that’s a tough one. You certainly have a point in that if he doesn’t understand English he certainly will not understand everything in the degrees. On the other hand, I didn’t get it all when I went through the degrees. I’ve been Master of my lodge for two years and I’m still learning. I’m sure you are, too. I tend to give good men a pass on some of their shortcomings and if I met this man and found him to be someone I would be proud to sit with in lodge then I would read his petition. Remember the lesson of the rough and perfect ashlars and I think you may see what I mean.

Signature 

John Ruggiero, 32°
Master, Ancient York Lodge, Lowell, MA.

God never sends us anything we can’t handle. Sometimes I wish He didn’t trust me so much. - Mother Teresa

Posted: 12 June 2017 09:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  249
Joined  2014-06-15