Ask a Freemason Questions and Answers Find a Lodge Near You

New and seeking some advice
Posted: 13 December 2016 06:17 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Newcomer
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2016-12-07

Hello,

I am new to masonry and I just received my entered apprentice. due to work schedules it is hard to meet with my mentor. Is there some online study guides that I could use? The reason I am asking is because on http://freemason.org/index.htm in the youtube video’s it states that they have online study guides however I can’t seem to find it. Does any one know anything about it?

Signature 

Las Palmas Ponderosa Lodge 366
Entered Apprentice

Posted: 14 December 2016 06:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1442
Joined  2010-11-01

You will not find study guides online for what you need to learn.  Some states have a cipher booklet that you use but that would be all.  Masonry is not something you do online anyway….

Signature 

W:. Bro. Paul Hulseapple
St. Georges Lodge #6
Worshipful Master for the 2016-17 A.D 6016-17 A.L. year

32°AASR Valley of Schenectady
St Georges Chapter #157 Royal Arch Masons
Scribe

St. George’s Council # 74 Cryptic Masons
Giles Fonda Yates Council #22 Allied Masonic Degrees
Jr. Warden

St. George’s Commandery #37

Schenectady NY

Posted: 14 December 2016 08:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2315
Joined  2011-01-20

The Fraternity has been building relationships between men for centuries.  Part of the purpose of learning the ritual is to build a bond between the new brother and his mentor. I teach at cipher class every Saturday evening for the group we have going through the degrees. They just became Master Masons and signed the bylaws so there is no more requirement for them to return any proficiency yet they are insisting of continuing the classes. The reason is this was the way we all bonded with each other and they realize they still have much to learn.